Strange and Unrelated Things . . .

Usually events in life or a photograph inspire me in someway to write a new blog post.  Lately, I seem to have lost or misplaced things that provide inspiration to write. (Maybe an expanded version of my black hole theory?). My days are currently filled with unrelated things and have me somewhat scattered-brained  (a slight case of ADD has developed). With school coming back into my life (feelings of dread in my stomach), working on my parents house, and trying to finish up all those summer projects that were easy to start in June and that I put off finishing in July I suppose it is understandable .. but still annoying.

I keep a thought list  for blogging ideas, however, it currently consists of strange and unrelated things.  They are so different and some are so weird that I am not  able to find any relationships to tie them together into a post … except their oddness.  So, I will just share two of my odd lists with you . . . and see what happens.  ðŸ˜‰

 

butterflower

List #1 – Odd things from this past week:

~ Flower petals that fall and become like butterfly wings. (photo)

~ Morning radio show host being teased about his “whiskey laughs” and “nose whistles”  ðŸ˜‰

~ Refrigerator filled with 6 quarts of fresh picked blueberries that prompt fattening thoughts of muffins, pancakes, pies, coffee cake, jam, smoothies, etc …

~ The dog developing a need for my moral support when chasing chipmunks and squirrels. He lies on the porch and keeps an eye on them until I tell him to “go get’em”. Just a month ago, he did his “yard patrols” chasing the critters out of the yard on his own. (maybe he is feeling defeated as he has not caught one all summer?)

~  Touch-Me-Nots (exploding pollen when touched) and Caterpillars making tents

 

touchnot

 

tent

 

List #2:  Taking the good with the bad . . . as they always seem to go together:

  • A spider on your chair (bad) … A dragonfly on your shoulder (good)
  • Finding new tires at a lower price (good) .. during installation finding worn out tie-rods and ball-joints, too (bad)
  • The raspberries are ripe (good) .. the dog has learned to pick and eat them, too (bad)
  • Warm humid days (bad) … cool, breezy nights great for sleeping (good)
  • Fewer mosquitoes (good) … a huge crop of biting flies (bad)

 

 (I posted pictures of  Fireweed at my photography Blog)


And, there is one last thing I would like to leave you with … (My 2009 post on Smokey Bear and his history can be found here HOT FOOT TEDDY)

Today, August 9th is Smokey Bears 70th Birthday.  Remember …

Only YOU Can Prevent Forest Fires!

 

~ by bearyweather on August 9, 2014.

7 Responses to “Strange and Unrelated Things . . .”

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one!

  2. That first photo is beyond gorgeous! Every year in elementary school Smokey Bear came for a visit and gifted each student with a wooden ruler…That was the highlight each year!

    • Thank you … my impatients tend to make a flower petal mess on my porch, but I love it when I can see the art in it.

      I grew up with a family cabin in the woods and Smokey Bear (we even named our 1st German Shepard Smokey). Maybe where my love of “bears” came from?
      Smokey Bear signs (the classic ones from the 60’s) are still up around here (I live in the Chippewa National Forest). Smokey visits schools and events and the area DNR hold events for the kids/tourists that involve Smokey and safety in the woods.

      Interesting fact about the Chippewa Forest … its a forest of half water. More lakes and wetlands than any national forest in the country.

  3. I am so glad you wrote a blog post with odd and unrelated things, bearyweather. Those are one of my favorite kind to write. The seeming unrelatedness of everything kind of makes it read like a slice of life that is bigger than the “related” posts. If that makes any sense!

    • Kathy, you make a good point. Although my life is scattered and unrelated much of the time, it is in my nature to find logic, relationships and order … it was nice to let go of that trait for a post … as much as I really wanted to find something more deep to write about the radio announcer’s whiskey laughs and nose whistles. 😉

  4. I enjoyed your lists, Bearyweather. Maybe it’s just that time of year when it’s difficult to connect things or put them together in a coherent way. Whatever the case, I very much like this post. 🙂

Leave a comment