Go Ahead … Throw that snowball …

“The aging process has you firmly in its grasp if you never get the urge to throw a snowball.” ~ Doug Larson

Screen shot 2013-03-11 at 9.51.36 PMFresh snow, chocolate cake, red roses, a phone call from a friend and a rare daylight visit from a Barred Owl were my birthday gifts today.
Birthdays are strange creatures … some years they barge into your life in a rather loud, “look at me”, “let’s celebrate” sort of way. Other years, they pass by in a ghostly silence and are not even noticed. This year, it has been a rather numb one … just a normal, working school day with my birthday passing in a very quiet whisper. I barely even remembered it was my birthday.

Owl small pictThat is not a complaint or even a wish for it to change into a loud boisterous evening .. it is just how it is/was. Not great, not bad … just a day in my life. The older I get the less important it is to me how I spend my special day. Although I have hit one of those “old milestone” birthdays, I am still very young at heart … my mind and spirit are about 20 years less my physical age … and that is a great gift.

Just in case you are curious about how my starting quote relates to all this … it was a confirmation that I have not let my aging process make me “old”. With 20″ of fresh snow falling in the past 5 days, I definitely have the urge to throw a snowball or two (and have) … and the idea of building a snowman this weekend is lurking in the back of my thoughts. Snow Angels would be fun, but I am afraid if I fell back into the snow to make one I would never get out … it is 4 feet deep out there ;-).

More pictures of my birthday visitor (Barred Owl) can be seen at my photography blog: Bear In Sight: What a Hoot . . .

There are three hundred and sixty-four days when you might get un-birthday presents, and only one for birthday presents, you know. ~ Lewis Carroll

Un-birthdays are sounding pretty great to me . . .

~ by bearyweather on March 11, 2013.

11 Responses to “Go Ahead … Throw that snowball …”

  1. Happy Birthday! I think a visit from that beautiful creature was a wonderful birthday gift!

  2. Happy Birthday, Beary!
    Post a pic of your snowman when you build it.

  3. Happiest of birthdays, dear bearyweather! I am so glad you wrote. So glad you’re still young at heart. So glad nature gifted you with a lovely gift.

  4. A lovely post, to be young at heart is a great way to be ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I’m a little late to the party, but… Happy Birthday, Bearyweather. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you built that snowman.

    • Thanks for the bday wishes.

      Nope, no snowman. The snow was the icy kind .. would not stick and I would have had to jump into about 3 ft of snow just to get started. Besides I was too busy and tired from shoveling it.

  6. I am way too late to wish you for your birthday, but I very much enjoyed your photos and blog.

    • Thank you muddepaws! I am glad that you found my site and I hope that you will come back and visit often.
      By the way … I LOVE German Shepherds! There has always been at least one in my life … they make great friends!

Leave a Reply

 
