Extremes . . .

Screen shot 2013-03-03 at 5.32.51 PM“Whenever a situation develops to its extreme, it is bound to turn around and become its opposite” ~ Frank Capra

January … actually most of 2013 … was filled with extremes. Extreme events, decisions, weather, changes, etc.
And not in just one direction .. but from one extreme to the exact opposite extreme.

In the statistics world, extremes are called “outliers”. Data on the far ends of normal far away from the middle grouping of the majority. In general, outliers don’t count for much and are often set aside in statistics. In life, the exact opposite is true .. it is the outliers that challenge us.

Screen shot 2013-03-03 at 5.34.49 PM35º below to 35º above. Rain to a foot of snow. Long nights of darkness to nights with a full moon that lights up the snowy night woods as if it was just a cloudy day. Death of a relative and a family pet to the birth of a baby. A major small town business shutting down with numerous people losing their jobs to the building of a new coffee shop in the same town. Miraculous, life-giving solutions to agonizing problems to new problems taking their place. Celebration of the positive and trudging on through the negative.

Pain … whether emotional or physical. Life events whether happy or sad. How do you handle the extremes that appear in your life?

Most of us strive for the norm and are most comfortable in the routines of an ordinary day … we avoid the bad extremes and celebrate the good extremes. I don’t know about you, but I have never had a problem dealing with the positive extremes .. those are welcome as long as they don’t all come at once ;-). The negative extremes are where the struggles come from.

Floating in the middle ground is comfortable. I find that when bad extremes hit, I need to let go, throw my hands up and just ride with the flow of the extreme … there is seldom anything that can be done to change those extreme events that pop up and surprise us. I would like to say that when I let go it is because of my strong faith. However, if I am to be 100% honest, faith is only part of it. Sometimes when it comes to the bad extremes, it has a lot to do with a lack of fight, a feeling of helplessness … “what will be will be”, “things will change again” or “it will be over soon”.

Screen shot 2013-03-03 at 5.33.26 PMMy blogging habits have been extreme, too. From a couple of posts a week to one a month. I actually wrote this post at the beginning of February. The extremes of my January followed me into February and I forgot to finish it. I have decided to leave it as is … a string of thoughts .. because that is how I handle extremes. My thoughts float back and forth from one end to the other as I ride the waves to calmer waters and clearer vision. I hope while I have been not visiting you, you have been comfortable floating in the calm waters enjoying the start of 2013.

~ by bearyweather on March 3, 2013.

4 Responses to “Extremes . . .”

  1. I’ve been there too.

  2. I know what you mean about the extremes, weather wise and blogging. I even went as far as starting a third blog and then not even posting on any of them…trying to get some sort of blogging schedule going…

  3. Yep, it is easier to handle those positive extremes, isn’t it? It can hurt too darn much when we’re in the middle of a negative extreme. Sometimes we just have to hold on for dear life. I liked reading this blog and the way it meandered, kind of like a winter walk in the woods.

  4. Going with the flow, no matter how one gets there, seems to be the best way to handle those negative extremes. Now that I think about it, that approach might work well with the positives, too. Hope things are calm for you now, Bearyweather. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
