Crossings ….

Q: Why does a chicken cross the road?
A: Because it’s too far to walk around.

On my way home from work I roused a half-dozen birds from their afternoon “sanding” in the middle of the gravel road. They are not chickens, they are young grouse. They do act like chickens at times and I guess some may call them “wild chickens”. Grouse are rather stupid creatures, but usually they are pretty quick to hide in the woods .. not these guys. They took their time “crossing the road”. Which allowed me to get a few pictures … through my bug splattered windshield (sorry for the blurs).

They brought to mind some dumb “chicken crossing the road” jokes and thoughts about the word “cross”.
I am not an expert when it comes to the English language. The title of this post came to me before I knew exactly what it was going to be about. To be inspired, I looked up definitions, quotes, sayings and I must say that if there is another word with as many meanings and connections as the word “cross” I would be surprise .. I don’t know what it would be. Do you know of another word? (check out http://www.thefreedictionary.com/cross to see what I mean)

crossing the road
Crossed my mind
Cross reference
Crossed my desk
Happen across
Cross my fingers
Cross stitch
Across the board
Across the country (universe) world
Crossfire
Double Cross
Cross my heart
cross the bridge
Caught in the cross hairs
Cross your t’s
Cross the line
Carry one’s cross
cross-examination
Cross-cultural
Cross over
cross-wise
Crosswords
crossroads
crossing paths

And, there are many, many more.

Most of the time, I write posts about things that just happen to “cross my mind”. And that is how this one started … a combination of things that popped up in my life that combined and “crossed” with things I have been thinking about and doing. I believe what started my “crossing” thoughts this week was the title of a book one of my friends was given “Going Places: Crossing Bridges, Turning Corners, and Going Down a New Path” by Mina Parker.

There was also a quote or two on my desktop waiting for my thoughts to turn them into a post – like this one … β€œPeople who have lost relationships often wonder why they can’t just let it be “water under the bridge.” It is water under the bridge – the trouble is we do not live on the bridge but in the river of life with its many twists and turns.” ~ Grant Fairley

When I think about the word “cross/crossing” and all its many meanings I can see that the majority of them are related to change, differences and intersections. Change of position, ideas, and beliefs. The intersections of different objects and opinions … turning points in life. Life is about change, so I suppose that is why there are so many variations on the word “crossings”.

There are times in life when we do not experience much change day-to-day and other times we have to hang onto something because change is everywhere pulling us quickly across many bridges. My personal life has been like that with ailing parents and siblings with problems. The end of summer also brings many changes to my life because school is starting again with new job responsibilities. I cross from my summer life into my school life (explained in my “End of Summer Affliction” post). Top that off with many of my friends lives that are changing, too … they are at the “cross roads” of new lives due to retirement, new jobs, new homes, new relationships, and one illness.

All of these crossroads of change are not bad .. change brings growth. However it can be overwhelming at times and monopolize life and thoughts. Like now, when various “crossings” of various kinds appear to be everywhere I look.The grouse some how pulled it altogether for me and lightened the stress with a smile and a bad joke πŸ˜‰ Change is good.

Q: Why did the chicken cross the road?
A: To prove to the possum it could actually be done!

~ by bearyweather on August 5, 2012.

13 Responses to “Crossings ….”

  1. Looks like you have a good grouse crop this year!

    • Yes we do. I saw another family of at least 5 about 4 miles down the road the next day. Unlike this group, they flew .. but, flew right in front of me to cross the road … if I would not have been stopped and grabbing my camera, I would have had some for dinner (not really, I don’t care for it)
      The hunters will be happy this Fall.

  2. They do look similar to chickens. Great captures. My through-the-windshield shots are usually so blurry you can’t tell what I was trying to shoot.

    I think this time of year tends to bring about a lot of thoughts of change. Well, any transition from one season to another. I’ve been thinking about it, too. The mornings are misty, the goldenrod is blooming, and I wonder if autumn is going to make an early appearance. This seems to be the year for early appearances.

    The problem with aging is that everyone else is aging too. Parents (what’s left of them — my husband and I lost our mothers so it’s just the dads now), siblings, etc. One of my cousins died recently. He was a few years younger than me. Friends are being diagnosed with things I associate with my parents, and then I come to the sudden realization that I am the same age as my parents were when they went through this stuff. Scary.

    • Fall seems to be popping up here early, too. Very cool nights in the 50’s (which I love for sleeping) and some dried/yellowed plants (we went through a very dry spell) and the squirrels beat me to all the hazel nuts (they picked them green this year).

      Aging is not easy … it is actually extremely hard. In my younger days there were problems and hardships, however, aging was exciting … acquiring new responsibilities and abilities. Aging now (after the halfway point) is a lot tougher because we are losing abilities … and watching others go through some really tough stuff does not help. Luckily, I don’t feel my age yet (well, most of the time I don’t)

      The changes my parents and siblings are making in their lives due to problems and bad health are trickling down to me. It looks like my family support system will all be moving out of the woods … leaving me here on my own … and even though I love it here, that is scary.

      I put that last joke at the end because …. aging happens, it can be done … it is just not easy (and I hope I am not hit with aging like the possum ;-)).

  3. Hi Bearyweather, There used to occasionally be Grouse in the then rural area I lived in near Sacramento, CA, many years ago. Now those areas are paved-over sub-divisions of homes businesses and groomed city parks. I think the Grouse just moved along to less-populated areas. I hope you have a tremendously good coming school year. I used to teach so I know the excitement of the first week. Have a great day tomorrow!

    • Yes, I agree .. the grouse probably moved (anyway, it is nicer to think that then to think they did not survive the development). Personally, I don’t feel much excitement for the first week of school … I feel stress and the loss of my summer. However, once things get rolling, it is better.

  4. What handsome birds, bearyweather! ‘Traverse’ would be another word for cross, that’s the only one that comes to mind…the end of summer is indeed a time for reflection on coming changes.

    • I was really surprised at how many meanings and other words were related to the word crossing (like traverse). What I am wondering is … is there another word (with a totally different meaning) that has as many definitions and related words? This is where an actual book thesaurus would come in handy … I could just flip through the pages fast until I see a word that covers many pages.
      thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  5. Nice. Crossings are necessary , they come. Whether you like them, or not. Change is the only thing which is constantly happening, some way or the other. Today life is settled and comfortable – but we cannot live this way forever. I think we must all keep moving. Movement keeps me happy and healthy too. Cross and go on the side. At least it looks more greener πŸ˜‰

    • Good point, we can not avoid change … I am glad that when it comes to change, we usually have the freedom to aim for the greener side. Thanks for adding to the conversation

  6. Bearyweather, I have never seen baby grouse pausing in the middle of the road. Perhaps their slow ambling meant to convey that it’s OK to “cross” into new arenas slowly, to digest, to meander, to allow. Not to go too quickly through the changes. Hugs as you deal with a full plate.

    • Since I handle slow change much better then quick surprises I appreciate your thoughts … it is okay to go slow, isn’t it? Like wading into the cold water slowly … getting used to the newness of things.
      On the other side of that, I know that the grouse slow ambling and sand bathing would have ended in a very bad and dead sort of way if someone else would have come speeding around that corner. I hope the grouse appreciate my slow ambling in my car with my camera πŸ˜‰

      • What day does your school start? Ours starts Sept. 6th, late this year. Our son will be home that week, so it will be tricky to balance.

Leave a Reply

 
