More out in the woods than wildflowers . . .

“It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air that emanation from old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.” ~ Robert Louis Stevenson

The northern Minnesota woods are overflowing with life this time of year. If you visit my PhotoBlog (Bear in
Sight)
, you might think there are just a lot of plants and wildflowers out there – lots of green stuff .. definitely, however, there is a lot more going on out there in the woods.

Young birds are fledging, fawns are chasing their mothers through the woods, raccoon are attacking bird feeders, baby skunks are running down the road, wild strawberries are ripe (definitely eat when found), wild mushrooms are plump (don’t eat), the insects are swarming (and biting hard), the loons are singing in the early morning hours, and the humid heat is melting us all.

Wild Strawberries are very small, but pack a ton of flavor. As for the mushrooms, admire the colors but don’t eat .. most will make you sick.

The rivers are flowing high and clear from all of the rain (top photo) and the rustic beaches are full of people trying to cool off. The resorts and campgrounds are full of visitors this holiday week and fishing is popular. Many small town parades and fireworks displays for the 4th of July are scheduled and the first local area summer festival takes place (wild rice festival) this weekend. On a personal note … there is a juried art show at the gallery this month where I am honored to be displaying a photo (reception is friday night, you are all welcome to come šŸ˜‰ If you can’t make it, here is a copy of my “Doppelganger”).

In addition to all the wildlife of the woods, if you look closely and let your imagination run free … there are many faces out there to find. (There is still time to participate in my “Find a Face in Nature Challenge” … I will end it this weekend. I would like to see all the faces in nature that are looking back at you this 4th of July week ;-))

“The clearest way into the universe is through a forest wilderness.~ John Muir

~ by bearyweather on July 3, 2012.

17 Responses to “More out in the woods than wildflowers . . .”

  1. Never seen wild strawberries, they look so good!! awesome post šŸ™‚

    • They are small and it takes awhile to pick (I usually just nibble a few on my walks). However, their flavor is very compact, too ….an intense burst of strawberry flavor in each one.
      Thanks for stopping by to visit my woods.

  2. Ha, I’m famous for finding faces everywhere I look…sometimes I scare myself with my obsession over it! Love your pretty pictures!

  3. Summer in the forests, the time of plenty!

    • So true. It is also very noisy out there 24 hours a day … birds, frogs, toads, crickets, loons, wolves, and the leaves. It is amazing to me because winter is extremely quiet.

  4. I really like your pictures. I can visualize all what you’ve written about the place. Nice & Bright! šŸ™‚

  5. Hello, bearyweather! Congrats, firstly, on being part o the juried art show. What a lovely photo. Second, those wild strawberries look so sweet. I noticed a few raspberries growing on the way out the mailbox. Our visiting daughter will be thrilled to pick some northern berries.

    • Thanks … it was my 3rd art show, it is fun to picked to participate in it. The strawberries are a bit tart compared to the tame ones, but the strawberry flavor is strong.
      I just picked a quart of wild raspberries outside my back door. They are very abundant and juicy this year, probably because of the rain. I have to get my share before all the critters get theirs. Have only seen 3 blueberries so far … afraid our late April snow might have frozen the blooms.

  6. Hi Bearyweather, Nice photographs! I like the one of she shoreline and also that mushroom. Have a wonderful coming week!

  7. Stopping by from suzicate’s lovely blog. I JUST posted about the woods and a visit to Muir Woods so felt a connection immediately with your post here. AND – I was born in Minnesota. Beautiful state. Big Mosquitos! Love your photos!

    • Love meeting wayward Minnesotan’s … I am glad you enjoyed a visit to my blog and that you will stop back some time … I will stop by and visit you soon.

  8. That handful of wild strawberries looks scrumptious- great to hear that you have a photo displayed at a gallery! šŸ™‚

  9. Everything I see makes me want to be there. I most certainly love nature.

    Tim

  10. Hi! I’ve come to you by way of “Montucky”….Love the flowers, wonderful shots..looking forward to learning a lot šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
