Find a Face in Nature: A Photo Challenge …

“A man finds room in the few square inches of his face for the traits of all his ancestors; for the expression of all his history, and his wants.” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Summer time allows me to plot and plan for my new classes this Fall. I am working on photo challenges for my digital media students. My goal for most of the challenges are to get them to slow down, be observant, and think before they shoot. WordPress Weekly Photo Challenges have done that for me and inspired me to set up an educational blog for my students, it should be a great way for them to share their photos and discuss them. (Teachers … did you know that Edublogs.org is a great way for your students to blog safely? It is an educational version of WordPress.)

For a different type of blog this week, I thought I would try out one of my student challenges on you, my dear, imaginative, photographer, readers. I am trying to decide if this one should be extra credit .. is it too difficult? We have a school forest with trails and it is a great place to take a class out to take nature pictures. This challenge is to use their imagination and “Find a Face in Nature” … whether it is a cloud formation, a design in a rock or tree bark, a flower (easy this time of year .. tougher this Fall), the way debris and low growing plants fall, etc … Smiles, frowns, growls, sneers, tears, old, young … any human looking face counts.

What do you think? Are you able and willing to take my challenge and see what you can find over the next week or so? If you “Find a Face in Nature”, just post a link to a picture of your “found face” in the comments below. I eagerly await your creative discoveries … I am still out looking for other natural faces, the flowers I used for this post gave me the idea and were just too obvious to pass up (besides they all their individual little faces make me smile).

Happy face hunting …

~ by bearyweather on June 18, 2012.

22 Responses to “Find a Face in Nature: A Photo Challenge …”

  1. Pansies have such pretty little happy faces! Thanks for sharing the sunshine today!

    • I love pansies, too. Because I zoomed in, it is hard to tell .. however, these are the smaller, wild version of the panzy/viola … we call them Johnny Jump Ups. It is a hardy perennial that grows like a weed … blooms are about the size of the tip of my index finger.

      Suzi, I hope you find your own nature/flower face to share 😉

  2. Johnny jump Ups have one of the prettiest faces out there!

    I noticed the other day while I was entering some descriptions to my photos in iPhoto that the program “sees” faces in many of the flowers and asks for names.

    • That is cool! Can you see the faces that iPhoto sees? I will have to check that out. I look forward to seeing your “nature faces” in a future post.

  3. That’s a gorgeous flower! I have to look for some faces now!

  4. Hi Bearyweather, the face-in-nature challenge looks quite interesting to bring out the creativitiy. I like the face you found in the pretty flower! 🙂

    • I am sure it will bring out the imagination, too. I hope people will participate because I am really excited to see what everyone finds out there.

  5. Hello, my creative friend! Bearyweather, this is such a good idea for a photo hunt. I love finding faces in nature. During that year of the outdoor blog it seemed nature was always showing little faces everywhere. I have not been participating in photo hunts in a long while, but will let the Universe decide. If a face shows itself, I’ll introduce it to the camera and let you know. 🙂

  6. I like this challenge! I already have a photo from my recent travels in mind. I see faces in nature quite a bit. I blame that on Kathy for inspiring me to take on a year of getting outside every day. It’s funny how that changes the way you look at things. Or enhances. I’m not sure which.

    The flowers (and their faces) are beautiful. 🙂

    • Sure~~blame it on me! Yep, there are faces everywhere, they’re everywhere…

    • Robin, are the faces you now see in nature scary? .. do they haunt you and stalk you as you visit the outdoors? If so, we really should “blame” Kathy for waking up your imagination 😉

      I for one, thank Kathy for inspiring you to get outside … your nature photographs are a great gift to the rest of us bloggers … it definitely enhances!

      Between the two of you, I am challenged every week to get out there and find a better picture than you do 😀 …. (big grin)

      The inspiration circles around between us and I think that is so cool .. that is what blogging is about.

      • lol! No, they don’t haunt me at all. You’re right, of course, and I am extremely grateful to Kathy for inspiring me to get outside.

        I think the way inspiration circles around is pretty cool too. 😀

  7. […] forgot to tell you.  Bearyweather  is featuring a photo challenge on her blog Bear in Mind:  Find a Face in Nature.  If you’d like to participate, read her post and wander outside to find a face in the […]

  8. […] you’re interested in a photo challenge, Bearyweather recently issued one:  Find a Face in Nature.  Have a look at her post, grab your camera, and get outside to see what you can find.  There are […]

  9. […] you found a face in nature for Bearyweather’s Find a Face in Nature challenge yet?  I keep finding faces in the images of the rocks from Hopewell Rocks in New […]

  10. […] run free … there are many faces out there to find. (There is still time to participate in my “Find a Face in Nature Challenge” … I will end it this weekend. I would like to see all the faces in nature that are looking […]

Leave a Reply

 
