Invisible Connections . . .

“And now here is my secret, a very simple secret; it is only with the heart that one can see rightly, what is essential is invisible to the eye.” ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupery

It may surprise you to know that living in the middle of the Northwoods does not mean that my technology options are few and archaic. Far from it. I have high-speed fiber optic cable run to my house. Not even big cities can offer that to everyone, can they?

Eight years ago when I built my house, I had the electrician run networking cable to most rooms (high-tech at the time – why would you need that many?). Since I had a hardwire option built into my house, I never saw the need for adding wireless. That put this techno-geek a little bit behind the rest of the world during the past year or so.

Wireless internet connections and the devices that require them are becoming so prevalent that they are starting to feel like a life necessity. I don’t know about you, but when I go to town (a small city in my case), I look for internet hotspots in restaurants, coffee shops, etc… They used to be hard to find, but not any more. Wireless connections are becoming (if they have not already) a central part of our lives.

Last week, I finally gave in and installed a router in my house for wireless connections. The final push to conform was when the school gave me an iPad to learn with this summer. I have not totally transformed my life, my computer is still hardwired and so is my Wii (faster connection). However, adding the wireless to my home has turned out to be a great thing … it has been wonderful to be able to go outside and sit on the porch and still be “connected”. If you are still on the fence about upgrading to wireless, I would like to encourage you to conform like I did. It is a fairly cheap thing to add to your home, is easy to install, and it frees up your ability to connect.

The wireless transformation I added to my home caused me to think about all the invisible connections there are in our world. Then, when I saw this message on a local churches sign this weekend, it put an interesting twist on those thoughts:

Prayer … the ultimate wireless connection

I love that correlation!

There are so many invisible, wireless connections in our lives .. the connections that are not seen unless we really look for them.
For instance:
The intimate, emotional connections between friends and family that the outside world can not see.
The biological connections that allow plants to grow one place but not another just a mile away (ie: Showy ladyslippers on my photo page comments), gravity, magnets, disease ….

What other invisible, wireless connections are in your life?

“A photograph is always invisible, it is not it that we see.” ~ Roland Barthes

I have been taking a ton of pictures this month … check out my summer woods here on my Photo Pages.

~ by bearyweather on June 11, 2012.

9 Responses to “Invisible Connections . . .”

  1. I love wireless! Prayer is absolutely the ultimate wireless connection!

    • I thought that church sign was a perfect fit for our world … I just loved it!
      Suzi, I hope you enjoyed my wildflowers … I am still working on them … new ones every week.

  2. Invisible connections indeed- good topic, Bearyweather! Another example is how birds migrate for thousands of miles and sometimes come back to the very spot they started at a year ago.

  3. We just found out our 6 year old wireless router is a “dinosaur.” The tech laughed when I told him what our problems are and how old it is. He gave me this “Well, duh!” look. Sigh. Nothing lasts anymore.

    • Wow, you got 6 years of connection out of it? With tech, it seems you are lucky if you make it 3 years … things are changing so fast, it is hard to keep up.

  4. Hadn’t thought about Prayer being the ultimate wireless connection…but I love that, too. Have been ever-so-grateful since our wireless was installed and last weekend my dad presented me with my first-ever wireless mouse. Hurray!

    • I am quickly becoming addicted to my new wireless and my new iPad … funny how something I thought I did not need has become a part of my life I don’t want to give up so quickly.

      By the way … are you going to join in on my “find a face” in nature photo challenge? When I wrote it, you were one of the first people I thought I would inspire with it … you are so imaginative and creative.

  5. Wireless has become so central to my life, especially when we travel. We didn’t have an internet connection in our cabin in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, so we would park outside of the local museum which had a big sign advertising it as a CAP (Community Access Program) spot. The museum was closed (I think they opened for the season the week after we left) but the wireless was working (and working well). They have CAP spots in most towns that we visited.

Leave a Reply

 
