Spring blooms . . .

For the past month, I have been admiring everyone’s posts about their new Spring flowers. (I have been especially envious of: Montana Outdoors and Bogs of Ohio)
Well, Spring is finally here in northern Minnesota, we have color once again and I get to join in on the topic “what is blooming”. What stands out the most is the shocking greens that are everywhere. New leaves and new pine needles are such a vibrant lime green this time of year. When the sun is shining it is very bright in the woods. It must be enjoyed now, because they will all darken as the summer progresses.

If you are willing to search, many other colors can also be found in the woods. It takes patience and a keen eye to find the whites, yellows, pinks and blues found in the woods this time of year because they come in the form of tiny flowers near the ground. I have been taking pictures of what I find so that I can try to figure out what they are called when I get home. I am learning a lot this year as I have found many small flowers I have never seen before. If I have made any mistakes, please correct me … I am still learning.
(I am sorry for the inconvenience of having to click on the thumbnails to see them better, there were just too many pictures to include with this post)

Low to the ground …
These are very small and some of the first plants to poke through the leaf litter on the floor of the forest. Wild violets, hepatica (pink, blue and white), anemone, star flowers and strawberries.


A little bit higher off the ground (and a week or so later) …
Blue-eyed Grass, Yellow Bellwort, and Pussytoes.

Down at the lake …
Wild calla, Leather leaf, Bog Laurel (some of the saucer like blooms were floating on the water like little boats), and I found some Bog rosemary.


Unidentified Flowering Bushes …
I have not been able to identify any of these, so if you know what they are I hope you will enlighten me.


Fuzzy stuff …
I have not been able to identify these either. The first photo is a plant that grows in water and is always in a state of Fuzz, it grows fuzzy flowers. The second photo is of a plant I took a picture of several weeks back because of the bright green (new growth, buds?) it was showing off .. they have now turned to fuzz.

What is amazing to me is that in a week or two, most of these flowers will be gone and new ones will be filling my camera eye. The bigger, flashier flowers are coming soon … columbine, wild roses, black-eyed susans, blue flag iris, showy lady slippers and my favorite ones … harebells.


“Earth laughs in flowers.” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson
(If you are not tired of looking at pictures … A few more can be found in my Weekly Photo Challenge entries for tiny and water: blueberries and wild calla)

~ by bearyweather on June 5, 2011.

12 Responses to “Spring blooms . . .”

  1. Lovely collection.

  2. Wow, what a pretty selection, many of which I’ve never seen, such as the Calla, Leatherleaf, anemone and Bog Laurel! They are beautiful! Unknown #3 may be a species of twinflower of a species of honeysuckle perhaps. Isn’t it great to see them blooming again!

    • Those water flowers (calla, leatherleaf and bog laurel) are a benefit of living in a State with 10,000+ lakes and probably even more wetland/bogs. (Downfall, tons of mosquitoes).
      Thanks for the twinflower idea … I did some research and the flowers were extremely close, but I read that twinflower honeysuckle plants are less than a foot high. This was a bush (wood stems) about 4-5 feet tall. I was hoping that the flowers might turn into hazelnuts (or something else yummy), but it looks like they fell off and did not leave any nuts or fruit behind.
      Our red/yellow columbine (which everyone calls honeysuckle here) is just starting to bloom … seeing all the flowers is really a treat .. the winter was so long and Spring felt like it would never get started. Thanks for inspiring me to search out these flowers this year.

  3. Lovely to see you have thawed out and spring has sprung! Can’t wait for the Black-eyed Susan photos!

  4. Wonderful spring pictures!

    The bush on the left looks rather like Multiflora Rose to me…

    • I checked out “Multiflora Rose” .. you are correct, the flowers are extremely close, but the bushes I saw did not have any thorns, they had smooth stems. Is there a thornless variety I wonder?
      From a distance the bushes looked like small lilac bushes, but they did not smell like lilacs.

  5. Wonderful post, Bearyweather! It’s like watching spring advance all over again.

    I love the Bog Rosemary. As with some of your other flowers, I’ve never seen it before.

    • Thanks, I am glad that I could provide you with a second Spring … I owed you, your photos provided me with my first Spring this year ;0).

      I read online that Bog Rosemary is rather rare .. so I really looked that one over carefully before I named it. I was very fortunate, all of those water plants were right around my dock, I never went into the lake or a bog searching for them. At the time I thought I had found a rich treasure in my backyard, but now I am hoping that this is not a sign that my small lake is dying and turning into a bog .. the bog flowers were so abundant.
      Photographing flowers in the water has its special challenges (one being tons of hungry mosquitoes), but I love the reflections and sparkle you can get.

  6. Hi Bearyweather, I love your pictures. I like the wild Calla Lily. I just planted three of the domestic version but I think that only two will survive. I live in a forest setting that is also a pretty-well settled developed neighborhood. I also live at the shoreline so I have a real combination type of yard with both wild and landscaped plants. Have a super nice day!

    • Sounds like you have the same variety as I do … mine are 90% wild, though. I only have a few small flower gardens I have planted up by the house. You should do a post on your wild plants!

Leave a Reply

 
