Whining, Complaining and Grumbling . . .

Listening to whining and complaining stresses me out and makes me grumble like a bear. I have had it this week. I am full. I have heard so much whining, grumbling, and complaining I think I am going to explode with my own whining, grumbling and complaining. It has all gathered in my shoulders and neck … I feel like I was in a car accident.

Whining and complaining is extremely contagious, just like yawns are … first one, then everyone. You have been there too, right? Listening to someone whine and complain only leads to more whining and complaining. Sometimes hearing it acts like a very strong magnet and it draws us in. Because, let’s face it, we all have a good fuel supply of frustrations and irritations we have packed away to deal with at another time and someone else’s complaining is like an open invitation that now is the time to let it all out. Or, sometimes the whining is the irritant, the fuel that forces you to start complaining about the complaining … where does it stop?

The complaining and whining bug hit our school this week big time. You have heard nothing until you have spent the final week of school with high school students who are taking finals, writing papers, finishing projects, participating in final sporting playoffs, getting ready for graduation, etc …. and teachers trying to deal with it all and finish up their own work .. ugh. It has been a crazy, exhausting week and it all came out in irritating whines …

“It is not fair”, “this is too hard”, “I am never going to finish”, “why won’t you help me”, “I can’t do this”, “why can’t you just give me an A”, “couldn’t you make this test shorter”, “can you correct this now”, “why can’t I have a cheat sheet?”, “this isn’t working”, “there is no time” …. it is constant, all day long especially among those students who were gone a lot for sporting events and put everything off until the last-minute.

We all have our whiny moments. We all have things to complain about …my own list of annoying problems that caused me irritations this week is pretty long … the gas tank on my car starting saying it is empty all the time ($400 to fix), my cell phone stopped working and it took 3 phone calls -one over an hour with 4 different operators to find out I need a new SIM card and it will be sent to me within 7-10 days, the wood chuck has been digging under the foundation of my house again, the birds plucked all the strands of fiber out of my hanging planter (it is lined with one of those coconut liners .. well, it was until the birds decided it was good nesting material), my iPod crashed in the middle of a software update, my mailman got a new truck and now everyone has to rebuild their mailboxes so that are 6 inches higher by the 1st or no mail delivery, plus the constant barrage of complaints at school … I have reached my limit …
But, you don’t hear me whining about it, do you? ;0)

Why do we have this need to whine and complain? How can we stop all these little things from bothering us? I think we complain, because when we are done letting it all out … we feel better. Those around us might not, but we do. Once we say it, most of it floats away and dissipates in the air (at least for a little while). Therefore, I can surmise that whining and complaining is a selfish act, that we all do. And, maybe the best way to handle it is to invite a few close friends over for a whining/wine party to complain about what is bugging us. What could be better than an agreed upon mutual outlet for our frustrations .. sharing it and letting it all float away making everyone feel so much better. That’s what friends are for, right?

Since I guess my post sort of turned into a big whine … I know I must have caused you to think of at least one thing you really need to complain about so, I will give you an outlet for that frustration. My blogging friends, I give you permission to complain here. Drop it off in the comments and forget about it … you will feel better. Then, relax and join me in a glass of a different type of wine … Sigh … it has been a very long week.

Oh, wouldn’t the world seem dull and flat with nothing whatever to grumble at?  ~W.S. Gilbert

~ by bearyweather on May 28, 2011.

15 Responses to “Whining, Complaining and Grumbling . . .”

  1. late in the evening, a glass of good brandy, sipped very slowly is the prescription that I use. Works great!

  2. Hi Bearyweather, No whining or complaints here. I am doing fine and enjoying the birds, ducks, squirrels, rabbits, chipmunks, deer and even, yes, the groundhogs! Life is good and I am a happy person. School will be over for the year soon and you will have a bit of time to catch-up on your family, home, and friends more than usual. I know I loved the first couple of weeks off after the year ended when I was teaching. Have a fantastic day tomorrow!

  3. Hi bearyweather, last week, was the whining & complaining in the air? same here. And we too have been saying time & again that we don’t want to hear a single complaint any more.. we were so irritated with those grumblings.. well, god knows why. Complaining never solves any problems. I believe that we start complaining when we fail to appreciate and be thankful for the things around us. But ya, complaining is contagious.. spreads as fast as a virus. 🙂

    • I agree, if you can keep the good in life utmost in your thoughts you are less likely to get whiny about life. Sometimes I think we start complaining because things are out of control and we just can’t handle any more.
      You are right, it usually does not solve any problems .. however, you must admit, it does make you feel better. Thanks for adding to the conversation.

  4. Great post, Bearyweather, as usual. 🙂

    I’m not really in the mood to whine or complain at the moment. I could have used this opportunity last night when I discovered my clean kitchen was a mess because M decided to bake bread. The man does not cook or bake. He creates! (That’s what he says, and he always says it with an exclamation point at the end.) An artist must not have his creativity stifled by such a meaningless, silly thing as cleaning up.

    Hmph. Maybe I *can* whine and complain after all. And I really shouldn’t because that was tasty bread, perfect for the picnic lunch we had today.

    One of my daughters-in-law is a high school teacher and this is a tough time of year for her, too. Teens, I think, know how to whine and complain better than any other age group. That’s not to say other age groups don’t whine, but by the teen years, we all seem to have mastered the idea.

    I hope things are better for you now. 🙂

    • Things are much better after a relaxing weekend in the woods with no teenagers around whining. Whining is so contagious, sorry if I passed it on to you. I find it rather amazing because when we complain in a whiny or crabby way, it seldom improves the situation … it just makes us feel better to get it all out.
      Sounds like the price you paid (an irritating mess) might have been worth it for a loaf of really great bread?

  5. Stop grumbling. ha ha ha ha ha
    I’m just playin’ 😀

  6. No whining and complaining here…yet…it’s still too early for me to think of anything!!!! Sorry your life has been filled with grumbles! Maybe by the last day of school all of it will be gone and everything at home will be fixed and you really can enjoy summer vacation!!!!

    • Last day with students was last friday, I have had a few days to wind down and the sun shining today really helps.
      I do the computer work at school during the summer, however, it is on my own schedule (when I feel like going in like on rainy days or really hot ones) and much less stressful.
      Wouldn’t it be great if everything at home would just be fixed? Summer at least gives me the freedom to deal with it all.
      Hope your summer is off to a great start, too.

  7. Hi bearyweather! Ohmygosh, I am sorry you had such a week filled with whining and complaining. It’s kinda like a flu bug that hits, isn’t it? And it’s so catchy. Let me think about this for a moment. I could complain because it’s so windy. Darn wind! And because it’s windy and rainy, we can’t get all our plants in the garden and the tomatoes may keel over. (But of course the next thought is–thank goodness we haven’t lost our power again. I am grateful for that.) So is this a good enough whine? I like that you gave us permission and hope that all the people around you start humming and singing in this upcoming week. lol!

    • Hi Kathy … I am glad that you felt free to grumble a bit.
      Grumbling and complaining seems to have a lot of healing powers. It usually makes you feel better to get it all out … and then, it makes you see and really appreciate the good stuff in your life.
      The wind and rain were here until yesterday afternoon, too. I guess I should not grumble, it provided me with the opportunity to get some good water pictures for this week’s wordpress challenge (I posted them last night on my challenge page).
      The sun is out briefly this morning and it is making me feel so much better …

  8. […] source […]

Leave a Reply

 
