Something has been missing . . .

Something wonderful has been missing from my life, yet it’s absence went unnoticed. Could it be that life has been too full of work, busyness and stress for me to be aware it was gone? Did I not see it was gone because it departed gradually and I was psychological conditioned over the long (extremely long) winter to not even remember it existed? Maybe this is just a segment of my life where it does not really fit in? When I rediscovered what was missing, it definitely made me wonder … How could something so life-giving and fun not be missed?

Surprise was what I felt when I discovered what was missing. I made the discovery after school one night when most of the students and staff had already gone home. There were only a few teachers like me tucked away in their rooms finishing up a few things and getting ready to leave. As I walked down the hall, I heard it and I followed the sounds as if pulled there by invisible strings. It was like finding a missing emotion I did not know was missing. The more I heard the more my heart leapt for joy, the more I wanted to hear, the more I smiled. What I heard was wonderful laughter .. belly jiggling, eye watering laughter. I was drawn to it. Not out of curiosity as to what was so funny … I was drawn to hearing it, listening to it, enjoying it … soaking up as much of it as I could.

The sound of laughter is like the vaulted dome of a temple of happiness. ~ Milan Kundera

Maybe the long, cold winter made me shut laughter off for a while … I know that I definitely avoid canned laughter. You know, the stuff played during television shows to signal you when you are supposed to laugh. I have not watched television, especially a sit-com in a very long time. However, I still remember how the canned laughter used to make me wince … I hated it. I know when something is funny to me, I don’t want or need any “laughing help”.

Maybe I misplaced side-splitting laughter because of my solitary life which has been packed full of serious family issues and work with no time for fun socializing. Those stress-free, fun interactions are the times that bring the best laughter. Have you noticed that there are some people in your life that always see the humor and can make you laugh without even trying to? One off-the-cuff remark from them can make you laugh for several minutes, even years later. I strongly believe that the best laughs, the most meaningful, the most all-encompassing laughs are laughs that are shared with other people. For those down deep belly laughs that make you cry, I know exactly who I need to spend time with and I bet you do to. These are people who are gifted with humor and we all need at least one in our lives.

Laughter is the closest distance between two people. ~ Victor Borge

I often laugh at myself or the strange things that I see, so I am not without a smile. However, when you have someone to laugh with, that is when it has the power to turn into a true belly laughing workout … that is the healthy, life-giving kind of laugh. A laugh shared is the best medicine and brings you closer together.

Laughter is good for your health. I hope that everyone can find a belly jiggling laughter workout this weekend. If you have no one to laugh with (or even if you do), you MUST check out this Skype video. We all know that laughter is contagious … here is a Laughter Chain video … one funny laugh leads to the next and it just grows … it is marvelous!

~ by bearyweather on April 30, 2011.

11 Responses to “Something has been missing . . .”

  1. There is nothing like a full bellied laugh – the kind that squeak down to your toes! Here’s to a laughter-filled weekend for you!

    • Thanks, I hope your weekend brought many smiles to you as well …

      Unfortunately, I think Mother Nature (the practical joker that she is) is the one who had the most weekend laugher as she lowered our temperatures to the 20’s and threw snow flurries at us. I had to check the calendar … nope, it is not April 1st … it is MAY 1st.

  2. Laughter is absolutely good for the soul! It lifts us up and carries us forward.

  3. You are sure right about that! There’s nothing like a good laugh!

    • Hope you had lots of laughter in your weekend.
      There is more than one kind of laughter …
      β€œEarth laughs in flowers.”
      Ralph Waldo Emerson

  4. Hi Bearyweather, I am glad you are having so much joy! My late father adored Victor Borga and saw him perform on a Caribbean cruise long ago. I like seeing old recorded performances of his and also of Red Skelton. Have a wonderful fun-filled day today!

    • I wouldn’t say that I am “having so much joy” …. actually, life has been quite depressing lately.
      I just know that I am very fortunate and when I am down I remember those things that bring me joy. And, now, I have a funny video to watch when in need of a laughing pick-me-up.

  5. Thank you so much for the laughter, Bearyweather. I thoroughly enjoyed the video, and it was a great way to start off my day. πŸ˜€

    • Glad you enjoyed it.
      Sometimes I think that you have to be the mood to laugh. A link to that video was sent to me over a week before I decided to watch it. I have watched it several times since … laughter is contagious.

  6. Laughter truly IS the best medicine, isn’t it? I know when I am being way too serious and feel everything is of the utmost importance that I am in dire need of a laugh infusion STAT! I am even learning now to laugh at myself and trust me, I have plenty of opportunities to do just that!

    Hoping your week is giggle filled. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
