The Ripples of Life . . .

Every life affects another. Our actions, our words, our inaction, our silence … everything we do (or don’t do) affects those around us. In turn, what the people around us do or don’t do affects everyone around them, including us. Our life ripples expand, bump into and sweep through others life ripples, just like the rain drops on a still lake.

The affects can be subtle and we can go many days without personally feeling the affects of the actions of people around us … nothing special has really changed or maybe we are blind to what is around us. At other times, it feels like we are in the midst of a terrible storm with waves quaking up over our heads. Sometimes the poison of someone else’s life ripple can hit us with such a big wave that we in turn push a similar wave back at someone else.

Parent teacher conferences were this week, so there were some very long days/nights. Overall, the conferences were great. I had productive and enjoyable talks with all of my parents except one who decided it was her night to “make waves”. I have asked myself many times over the past few days why I was allowing that one, “pick your adjective” (crabby, unrealistic, abrasive, blind, finger-pointing, angry) parent to stay in my head, causing me to be frustrated and angry? Why wasn’t one of the many other “pick your adjective” (happy, joking, complimentary, appreciative, caring, involved) parents the one stuck in my head giving good vibes … positive life ripples? Why do the negative life ripples seem to be more powerful?

On the other hand, I have also been sitting in hospital waiting rooms for hours the past two days and the opposite is true. Even though things look medically bleak, the positive life ripples nurses, doctors, friends and family have been sending my way seem to be more powerful. They are lifting me up and getting me through it all.

I have been floundering in the midst of the affects other people’s actions have had on me with a lot of time to think about it all. It has made me much more conscientious this week about how I behave and what I say because as much as I want to believe I do not have any effect on other people’s lives, what I do really does. It may be very subtle or not even noticeable until much later in time .. but, what I do affects the people around me just as much as what they do affects me.

Our life ripples spread across the world bumping into other people’s ripples … everything really is connected in this world. Negative waves are going to hit us, they may even submerge us for a time, however, we have the power to send out our own waves to counteract their affects. We have the power to not return or pass onto others the negative waves. I am sure we all know how positive waves can send us soaring across the surface of life. What we need to remember is that we can also send other people to new heights with our own positive waves or destroy a piece of their life with a negative one. Please be mindful of what type of life ripples you are sending out to the people all around you.

I hope everyone has a wonderful day .. with a light shower of raindrops that only cast positive ripples across the surface of their life.

If you are a member of the grammar police and are cringing at my use of the word “affect”, please don’t write me a ticket … instead, send me a simple law that explains how to tell when you should use “effect” or “affect” and I will fix what I did wrong. … the one I remember is that “affect” has to do with emotions/feelings?

~ by bearyweather on March 5, 2011.

12 Responses to “The Ripples of Life . . .”

  1. Hi Bearyweather, I can relate to what you went through in your Parent/Teacher conf. When I was in the classroom, those types of parents occasionally made themselves known. Your approach is good and your cheerful positive attitude is outstanding! I sure enjoy reading your blog and hope my ripple is helpful, enjoyable and kind. Have an outstanding day! By the way, I taught all primary grade level classes with emphasis on first gr.

    • I teach 7-12 … but, the parents are the same at all ages, I think. For me, 99% wonderful. I just wish I did not let that 1% bother me so much. Thanks for the positive ripples.

  2. I hope you have a great day as well! It is strange how we miss noticing the positive ripples as much, but hopefully they have the more lasting effect on our lives.

    As for the grammar of affect & effect, apparently they are technically interchangeable but the way I try to remember it is that effects are like special effects in movies (being results of something) and affects to me is usually a verb.

    I will write no ticket though, I think this post is a great one.

    🙂

    • I think that we notice the positive ripples … it is just that the negative ones are screaming at us and are usually demanding something where as the positives come in loving whispers and ask nothing from us.

      Thanks for not giving me a ticket this time … my informational source tells me that they are “easily confused” … and even after reading the “rules”, I was still easily confused … (actually, I am still confused) but, hopefully it did not detract from the meaning of what I was trying to say.

  3. You haven’t been feeling well lately? “Medically bleak?” I don’t like the sound of that. I am sending you ripples of positive energy…I hope you get them. Your post is so wise and true. Bless you, bearyweather, and hope you recover soon.

    • Although I have my medical issues that I need to deal with soon, my waiting room sitting has been for someone else who is critically ill. Waiting and watching someone you love suffer is tough … so, I will accept your ripples of positive energy … however, I will just take a little sample and then pass them on to someone who needs them more.
      thanks for the well wishes …

      • Sorry to hear you’ve had to watch your love one suffer. I can’t imagine the pain of that. Glad you will send them on the ripples of healing.

  4. I’m sorry, I did not know you were watching someone you love suffer. I know it is a horrible thing. So sorry about your Negative Nellie parent…it only takes one to turn a good day into a bad one. I wish I knew the answer to not letting that happen, but I tend to let things like that get the best of me. I hope your day is filled with love and sunshine and other positive goodness. Hugs to you.

    • My hospital watch of a loved one is due to an accident … so, it was a sudden and unexpected thing that happened last week. I don’t think the seriousness of it all really sank in until a few days after … still waiting on a positive health change, but hope dwindles each day.
      Thanks for the positive ripples, I will put them to good use.

  5. Hi bearyweather, just stopping by to see if you had posted anything new. Hope everything is OK…

    • Thanks for checking up on me. It seems the ripples (huge waves) of life have carried me off to a distant land, but I am gradually finding my place again. I have started writing many posts over the past few weeks, however, I have not completed them. I am currently home with the flu and thought that would give me the time to finish some of them, however, I have slept most of the day away. Hopefully soon, I will finish a post. I have not quit, I have been reading your blog and others when I get the chance. I have a lot to say, but I am finding it very hard to say it these days … guess my head is too cluttered.

Leave a Reply

 
