A blind eye . . .

“Every man can see things far off but is blind to what is near.” ~ Sophocles

This bird nest is right outside my office window. A window I gaze out often all year-long because it looks out towards the lake and into the tops of trees that the squirrels and birds visit often. I would like to say that it was when the leaves fell in the fall that I discovered the nest .. but, I was blinder than that. It took a major snow fall for me to finally see it .. to see what was less than 8 ft from my window, at eye level, for months. Sure, it was hidden by leaves for many of those months … but, not invisible. Birds must have been building it, living there, raising their young .. and I missed it all because I was blind to it.

So often, we link our blindness to deception. When we discover something we were blind to, we feel deceived by someone or something .. maybe even tricked. When actually most of our blindness comes from haste .. hasty decisions, rushing around, assumptions, multi-tasking, unrealistic expectations, basically … not being fully in the moment.
All things will be clear and distinct to the man who does not hurry; haste is blind and improvident.” ~ Titus Livius

When we take the time to look closely, examine, search for what is hidden .. then we see. The same thing applies with the camera lens. I can walk out my front door and take a beautiful picture automatically, quickly, without much thought .. it is naturally pretty out there. However, the really great pictures come when I take the time, slow down and search the everyday sights … looking more deeply at what is right in front of me. When I am patient, I wonder, question, and examine … that is when I can see clearly.

β€œLife has its own hidden forces which you can only discover by living.” ~Soren Kierkegaard
There is also some blindness associated with most of our relationships. As proof, you merely have to do a quote search on this topic and you will get a very long list about blindness with regards to love, friends, family, and faith. Some blindness is caused by not knowing ourselves. Some blindness is caused by being lost in the numbness that forms around things we see everyday. Some blindness is by choice, when life seems to be easier for us if we do not to see certain things. Blind trust in someone or something can, at times, lead us to a darker blindness. There are people who purposely don’t see things that would disrupt their world, for instance, they can turn their backs on crime and accidents that happen right at their feet (Open to Adventure’s post on putting out fires). In all of the situations and areas of our lives that we can turn a blind eye to, we can choose to see instead. Looking with open eyes at life will eventually provide a path to knowledge and understanding … life is richer when you can see everything with openness and honesty.

If we open our eyes and mind, we are living a life of truth. When we are resolved to take the time and personal investment to really look, open our blind eye to see, it is amazing how curiosity can take over. We seek to solve mysteries and find the hidden truths and our eyes will find the answers (the saying “seek and ye shall find” comes to mind). Like Rene Magritte said “Everything we see hides another thing, we always want to see what is hidden by what we see.”

However, to start this eye-opening journey through life, we have to be willing to seeing and very cautious not to allow our imagination to see things that are not really there. When we decide to open our blind eye in an honest manner, we can begin to decipher and understand ourselves, our relationships, and the world around us.

Open your eyes … Life is full of amazing things. Mysteries and hidden truths are just sitting there waiting for us to discover them and learn from them. (If you click on my pictures to enlarge them, what is hidden in them will be clearer.)

~ by bearyweather on November 29, 2010.

16 Responses to “A blind eye . . .”

  1. This is a great post, full of such simple truth. It is certainly nicer to live with our eyes and hearts open I believe, because even though we will see things we don’t want to see, the beauty of so many things is that much clearer.

    Thanks for the link as well, it’s an honour to be included!

  2. This is a beautiful and thoughtful post, bearyweather. So glad to read it this mnorning. I love the picture of the hidden deer. Wanting to be less blind always~~to truly see that which remains hidden. But also to have trust that sometimes things remain hidden until we’re ready to see them. To remain open but not rushing. That is another kind of blindness. Sometimes I read blogs too fast. Then I am blind to subtelties and flowings within. Read this one really slowly and feel its illunminating gifts.

    • Thank you … I am glad you found something meaningful in it. I like your point about how sometimes things are hidden from us for a reason .. until we are ready to see. There are things that we may see … but, not really see or understand until sometime later, life experiences later.
      I too am guilty of speed blog reading sometimes … what is great is you can go back later. Sometimes I have to go back later after I have thought about the words for awhile first.
      I appreciate your slow, mindful read of this one.

  3. A lovely post, bearyweather πŸ™‚ what a nice thought and how true it is that we overlook the tiny simple yet the most beautiful things of the world. Very much thought provoking write up. πŸ™‚

  4. We think we’re protecting ourselves at times by refusing to see, but ultimately we are protected by truth in the long run. Excellent post.

    • I agree. At times, I have turned my head, not asked the tough question, accepted an answer I knew was a lie to get through a situation … in the end, I wish I hadn’t because not knowing the truth made things much worse. It was when I finally saw the truth that things made sense.

  5. Love the truths you uncover in this post. It was such a morbid little practice in my youth but I used to close my eyes and pretend I was blind. I’d listen. I’d feel. I’d try to wake up my other senses by not seeing. It was amazing to me what you could “see” without using your eyes.

    • Yes, it is amazing … and you have a good point. Sometimes we depend on our eyes too much. You learned a great lesson from your “morbid little practice” so, I don’t think it was so morbid. I think it is refreshing when young children can put themselves into someone else’s shoes and at least try to see the world in a different way. Adults should do that more, too.

  6. I like this post very much and am inspired by it as well. How easy it is for us to just gaze over what is around us without truly seeing the beauty. Not seeing ourselves is a form of denial and not seeing others robs us of their wonderful gifts as well. Here’s to 20/20 vision and appreciating the big and small around us…like lovely snowflakes on this page…beauty-full. πŸ™‚

    • I am glad that you mentioned that this blindness is really denial, I agree. Not seeing ourselves is a point I sort of touched on and skirted around … because it also involves ignoring and shutting out the little voice in our head. (which could be a whole other topic). I find that when I give myself quiet and I am willing to listen, my little voice knows a lot of truths I did not allow myself to see.
      Thanks very much for adding to the conversation.

  7. This is a wonderful post that gave me much to think about in terms of how I see (or don’t see).

    • I am flattered that I could inspire you to look inside yourself … thanks for letting me know that my words and thoughts have meaning to someone besides just me.

  8. I love this post! You always manage to use quotes that are perfect with your words, πŸ™‚

    • Sometimes a quote inspires me to write, but most of the time I just have these thoughts in my head I can not get a clear focus on and I search quotes for a more concise way to say what is bouncing around in my head … usually at 3 in the morning. There are much wiser people than me that have had these thoughts before me … so I listen to them. I am glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

 
