Refusal to “Fall Back” . . .

“The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep.” ~Robert Frost

Calling all American’s with strong Circadian rhythms … I love the sound of those two words … they are soothing, relaxing … sleepy. At times I have bragged about how great mine are … I can wake without an alarm clock. Having strong circadian rhythms seems to be a wonderful asset to possess … Until society messes with time which messes with my sleep rhythms. Or, maybe I really am part bear and it is time for me to just hibernate until Daylight Saving Time returns in 4 months.
(sorry for the detour … back to my plea …)
Strong C.R. people … it is time to unite and fight these seasonal hourly time changes society has pushed on us. It is time to save ourselves from the exhausting torture the time changes bring to our lives. It is time for us to demand that our country pick one time system and keep it forever. It is time to refuse to “Fall Back”.

This is not my first attempt at boycotting the time change, this is a twice a year struggle for me. I casually added my complaints about these time changes to Jumping in Mud Puddles post of a week ago. My complaints were rather passive (with just a little grrr) because after a few days, I am usually adapting and somewhat back to normal. Little did I know when I wrote those grumblings, how horrible this week’s time change would actually be for me … worse than ever (big, deep growl). Dark in the morning, dark at night … is only part of the problem. My body is shutting down for sleep very early at night when I still have piles of papers to correct. I have been forcing myself to stay up later so that I will adjust. However, it does not seem to matter how late I keep myself awake at night, my body is still waking up at 4 in the morning with no way to go back to sleep … I am exhausted. And, I am not the only one. Walking around my school are many very tired people with the big, black under eye circles and zombie stares .. and we have proven beyond a doubt that yawning is definitely contagious.

My body seems to have decided .. enough is enough .. and is refusing to Fall Back. Similarly (and ironically), the electronically connected clocks at school have also decided that Falling Back is just not going to take place this year … having the clocks an hour ahead all week did not help me adjust at all. However, I am not blaming those clocks, they are the only ones thinking clearly … It is past time for all clocks and everyone who owns a clock to refuse to Fall Back and Spring Forward. It is time to stop twisting up our natural circadian rhythms and leave time alone (growl – bark cheer). If Daylight Saving Time is so great for our economy and reduces energy use, let’s just keep Daylight Saving time all year-long and stop playing games with people’s natural sleep rhythms twice a year. Good sleep is extremely important to our mental and physical health (grrr-rah!).

Do these time changes disrupt your circadian rhythms, too? How do you deal with it? Did you know that over the years, Daylight Saving Time has grown from a few summer months to 8 months? Two-thirds of the year … why do we continue this insanity for just 4 months of standard time .. is it out of nostalgia? Much of the world does not change .. there are even parts of the US who have refused to change. What do you think? If you could choose a permanent time system, would you pick Daylight Saving Time or Standard Time?

Links:
Everything you would ever want to know about Daylight Saving Time.
Some good points about Daylight Saving Time are shared here.

~ by bearyweather on November 13, 2010.

3 Responses to “Refusal to “Fall Back” . . .”

  1. Great post! I really enjoyed reading it. You are a wonderful writer. Here it is Sunday, and my inner clock still refuses to adapt. I hate that it gets dark so early. I can only imagine how it is for you further up north.

  2. My body clock is all of out whack right now due to the time change and traveling.

    I agree with you. We should stop messing with time. Pick one and go with it, I say. 🙂

  3. We left for vacation the day of time change into a three hour difference which caused us to wake up at 3am Vegas time every morning…however when I returned home I am as perfectly timed!

Leave a Reply

 
