Seeds in the Wind . . .

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap, but by the seeds that you plant.” ~ Robert Louis Stevenson

When I graduated from high school a few decades ago, one of the cards I received had a similar picture .. dandelion seeds floating on the breeze with soft, fuzzy white parachutes. The correlation the card made with graduating went something like this …
While in high school, my graduating class was a bright yellow flower. We were each a small petal forming a tight-knit society with a warm friendly life and a purpose to learn and at the end graduate. Like the dandelion seeds that form from each flower petal at the end of the flowers life, at the time of graduation, we also became seeds and blew apart to float off in different directions never to be a part of that starting flower again. Instead, we were sent out to plant ourselves somewhere in the world and grow a new flower.

Every time I see these furry seeds flying through the air, it reminds me of that graduation card and it makes me think … did I plant myself in a good place? am I growing a new beautiful flower? have I reached the seed stage again … is it time to float off into the world and plant myself somewhere new?

Of all the events that take place during our lives it always amazes me how something as insignificant as one graduation card sticks in your memories forever. I believe this card is still a part of me because it made me think about the world in a drastically different way. It was not a “congratulations” card like all the rest. It was not about what I had already accomplished, it was about what I still needed to do with my life. This card had life implications for me, it was giving me an important responsibility to grow into something new and special to make the world a better place. I hope I am doing that.

“All the flowers of tomorrow are in the seeds of yesterday”
~ Proverb

~ by bearyweather on October 3, 2010.

3 Responses to “Seeds in the Wind . . .”

  1. Lovely photograph, beautiful quotes. I like the story about the card. I think that one would have stood out among the others to me as well. And you are making the world a better place!

  2. You are growing into a beautiful flower. You are.

  3. Thank you for the compliments and stopping by to visit …
    There is something about this time of year that makes me look back at life and think about so many little things. Knowing that the seeds of Fall (like events of my past) will blossom in the Spring (future) makes winter (the hard times) bearable some how.

Leave a Reply

 
