The Secret of Unfolding Flowers . . .

At some point in time, everyone’s life gets complicated. Life’s problems become overwhelming and can bury us in despair. Important decisions have to be made and every choice seems wrong. We become heavy with burden and all steps forward look impossible. Trying to figure out what to do, what is right, what is the best path, even taking the first steps down any path is extremely challenging.

To top it off, in our attempts to solve our problems, we may actually make the situation tougher on ourselves by being totally focused on the deluge of problems we have. Consumed by the problems, our anxiety levels rises and we can be cemented in the problems … instead of discovering a way out.

If you are a worrier, I am sure that you know how it feels to live submerged in the depths of the problems unable to move. Or, maybe you have been so entombed in problems that it seemed absolutely impossible and instead chose to be blind to it all, hoping that it would all just go away and fix itself? It is obvious, that neither of these reactions help us or move us forward in life … but it is so easy to be sucked in to them.

At times like these, we need to stay in the moment and be aware of what our inner self is saying. We need to be awake enough to see that in order to find a solution we are required to take a step back, relax, clear our minds, and take a deep breath. If we can find quiet time to listen to our inner self and have faith, the right path will appear. I am not really sure how we do that, but I know it is necessary. A caring, knowing friend and supportive family members are always welcome and can be helpful in keeping us moving forward through the obstacles in our lives … but, they can not solve them for us. Maybe, however, they can help us find that space we need to see clearly or show us something we could not see on our own.

As I am sure you know from personal experience, that first step is never easy since we can never be 100% sure it is correct, but we need to move somewhere. I think that we can gather some faith if we recall past problems. If we do that, we will remember that some how the next steps will be revealed when we need them and that everything eventually works out some how. Not always perfectly, but we always seem to get through the mess … after we take that first step. At least, that is what I have been telling myself.

My life is a kind of messy right now with a mountain of life problems. As my anxiety was rising tonight and I was searching for some inner strength, I came across this old story about the rose bud. I wish I knew where it came from .. probably one of those things that are forwarded a million times in emails … but, for me, this one was worth keeping and reading a few times over the years. (if anyone knows the author, I hope you will share that with me)

The story . . .

A young, new preacher was walking with an older, more seasoned preacher in the garden one day and feeling a bit insecure about what God had for him to do, he was inquiring of the older preacher. The older preacher walked up to a rosebush and handed the young preacher a rosebud and told him to open it without tearing off any petals.

The young preacher looked in disbelief at the older preacher and was trying to figure out what a rosebud could possibly have to do with his wanting to know the WILL OF GOD for his life and for his ministry. Because of his high respect for the older preacher, he proceeded to TRY to unfold the rose, while keeping every petal intact…It wasn’t long before he realized how impossible it was to do so.

Noticing the younger preacher’s inability to unfold the rosebud while keeping it intact, the older preacher began to recite the following poem…  

UNFOLDING THE ROSE
 
It is only a tiny rosebud,
A flower of God’s design;
But I cannot unfold the petals
With these clumsy hands of mine.

The secret of unfolding flowers
Is not known to such as I.
GOD opens this flower so sweetly,
When in my hands they fade and die.

If I cannot unfold a rosebud,
This flower of God’s design,
Then how can I think I have wisdom
To unfold this life of mine?

So I’ll trust in Him for His leading
Each moment of every day.
I will look to him for His guidance
Each step of the pilgrim way

The pathway that lies before me,
Only my Heavenly Father knows.
I’ll trust Him to unfold the moments,
Just as He unfolds the rose.

~ by bearyweather on July 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Secret of Unfolding Flowers . . .”

  1. I used to be very much a worrier and was ridden with anxiety. I finally (after MANY yesrs) have learn to what I call “Let go and let God”. I try to let go of things that are out of my control. It was a difficult process (and still ongoing at times) for me to learn, but I have now developed an inner peace I have never before experienced. I hope you’re able to work your way out of the messiness and anxiety you are feeling right now. Take care of yourself.

    • Thanks … I agree, letting go is really tough sometimes. I am sure time will take care of some of the messiness. I found some great therapy this week .. the bears were uplifting! (see pictures in my latest post)

Leave a Reply

 
