Hidden beauty …

bf303In the early summer, the Minnesota woods are beautiful and very rich with many shades of green. A drive down the country roads will please your eyes, but to really see nature’s gifts of summer, you need to walk.

Walking brings you closer to the hidden beauty of the wild flowers. When you slow your pace, you will be amazed at the number of precious blooms amidst the greenery. All the common ones .. Daisy, Aster, Sunflowers, Buttercups, Wild Roses appear first … then, with a little bit of searching .. the Columbine, Violets, Crown Vetch, Lily-of-the-valley, Dogbane, March Marigold, Lupine and Harebells can be found.

wc262I suppose I am a lot like a bird watcher … when I find a new one, I feel like I have been given a gift. This year, I have already been blessed with finding two new ones right outside my back door. They are growing in the wet marshy land on the edge of the lake .. the Harlequin Blueflag and Wild Calla (I looked them up – pictured on the left)

If you would like to see the hundreds of wildflowers found in Minnesota visit one of these sites:
• Minnesota Wildflowers Information
• Minnesota DNR wildflowers and rare plants info

ls305Finding the rare treasures takes a little bit more searching .. or knowledge of a secret garden. The most treasured Minnesota wild flower is the Showy Pink Lady’s Slipper, the State flower. They are a gorgeous wild orchid, also known as the moccasin flower. Unfortunately, their habitat is disappearing and so are they. Logging, road construction and illegal picking are just some of the causes. Many people try to transplant these flowers, they want them in their own yards, but these flowers are not easy to grow … nature does it much better. I have a special spot I visit each year just to see them … and I will confess that the urge to pick one sometimes is too strong to resist. I need to remind myself about how rare they are becoming … what if everyone picked just one?

The real crime is that it seems every year a patch of the flowers, usually along a roadway, are stolen. (most recent disappearance) I wonder where they all go?

Soon to come … hidden food in the forest …. a fruit treasure hunt!

~ by bearyweather on June 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
