C.A.R.E.

“You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Care: feel affection for, provide for, protect, look after, provide for the needs of…. Care and I are meandering around each other, dancing in endless circles struggling with who is leading and unsure if the song is ever going to end or graciously change it’s tune

C.A.R.E. Is also a Continuous Ambient Relaxation Environment. It’s a tv channel meant to soothe the sick with gentle music and pictures of nature. (http://www.healinghealth.com/care-channel-relaxation-programming/)

Screen shot 2014-04-29 at 10.35.51 AM
As I sit by the hospital bedside CARE lulls me to sleep sometimes and at others it captures the camera eye in my brain (which has been on a forced vacation) to find pictures of faces and silhuettes of characters. in the scenery. An old man with beard in the river, ladies with big noses gabbing in the bushes, jabba the hut in the sand dunes, buffalo head on the hillside. In my attempts to provide a caring face to the ill person I love, maybe I in turn am also searching for my own caring faces as I feel the exhaustion of illness, too?

Maybe it has more to do with the search for life as death is also dancing around me, looming in the corners of hospital rooms, concerned glances and unspoken words. Death threatening to tear down the structure of a family as it has existed for over 50 years, waiting to take a loved one, and slowly eroding understanding and hopes.

“We gain strength, and courage, and confidence by each experience in which we really stop to look fear in the face… we must do that which we think we cannot”  ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

 

~ by bearyweather on April 29, 2014.

5 Responses to “C.A.R.E.”

  1. That Eleanor Roosevelt quote is so true in circumstances in which you are going through. I honestly never thought I’d get through the process of a loved one dying. You do. It isn’t easy, and you are forever changed, but you do survive. Big hugs and love and light being sent your way.

    • I’m still in survival mode .. who knew this would be such a long process? I don’t see an end .. so much to still do …
      Hugs are amazingly healing! Thanks

  2. Bless your heart. I hope you have someone to provide you with moments of TLC as you care for your loved one. Take care.

  3. Hi Bearyweather, You acre in my thoughts during this difficult time. Glad you have the beauty of nature around you and via TV/Internet. Hope your day tomorrow is a good one.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers