There Are Angels Among Us . . .

An angel can illuminate the thought and mind of man by strengthening the power of vision. ~St Thomas Aquinas

There are angels among us. Trust me, I am a witness to it … and, if you think about it a little bit, I bet you have been, too. People have different beliefs about what angels are. Whether messengers from God, heavenly bodies, protectors and helpers … all of our Angel ideals could be classified together as a life comforting faith in help. To me, Angels are Gods voice, hands and feet here on earth … they help us when we need it most.

I grew up with this picture of a guardian angel helping two little girls cross a bridge hanging by my bed. My mom’s words of how there was a guardian angel watching over my sister and I just like the one in the painting was a comfort when I was little. As an adult, when something extraordinarily life saving happens, I still think to myself “my angel must have helped me”. However, my guardian angel faith has taken a back seat. It periodically pops up front when something miraculously happens that prevents harm. Like times when I should have been hurt, yet was safe (avoiding a head on car crash). Or, when life falls a part all at once (lost jobs, sickness, death, etc…) yet, some how, it all works out for the good … I still see Angel/God intervention. Not everyone believes in these unseen angels and miracles, but I think most of us can recall a time when someone was an angel for us.

The Angels we experience the most are those people in our lives who knowingly or unknowingly help us through the tough times. Angels are those people who appear out of no where when you really need help. (like the lady that knew a garage that was open late and could help me when I had car trouble and could not find help). Angels are those people who say something to you in passing that sticks with you and it changes you inside. Angels are the strangers that point you in the right direction when you are lost. An Angel is the person that is miraculously there to catch you when you fall. Angels are the people who are there to hold you up and help you out. Angels are definitely those dear friends that some how show up or call right when you need them the most.

Angels have shown their faces to me a lot this week as my family deals with sick parents. Brothers who have stepped away from their lives to help out taking turns for few days. Personal friends who are there to talk to. Medical care givers who have much wisdom to share. A sister who organizes help long distance. Neighbors who offer to help. And, especially life long family friends who have gone that extra mile (driving 4 hours when they are not in the best health themselves because they did not think a phone call was enough) to give counsel and friendship when it is needed most. Those friends that stick with you and support you over the years are so very important and some of the strongest, most helpful Angels I know.

Angels are people who openly and willingly are God’s hands and feet here on earth. We can all, at times in our lives, be an angel to someone else. Sometimes we are not even aware, we just feel inside what we are supposed to do and do it without question. Sometimes we knowingly make sacrifices to help people in need. I hope I have been an Angel to someone in need a few times during my life, because I know what it is like to need one and how wonderful it feels when an Angel appears to help me.

I hope that when you need an Angel in your life that one appears for you at just the right moment with the perfect help. I also hope that you know the feeling of how an Angels visit (even if extremely brief) lightens your burdens and brightens your heart. My wish is that no one is alone and all know the feeling miracles and an Angels visit brings to your soul.

And, just as important, I hope that when the situation presents itself that you don’t hesitate to be an angel to someone else in a time of need. That when you feel the inner call to help, you are there. Angels are all about love … isn’t it a great way to think about Valentine’s Day this year?

Be an angel to someone else whenever you can, as a way of thanking God for the help your angel has given you. ~Quoted in The Angels’ Little Instruction Book by Eileen Elias Freeman, 1994

Jason Gray wrote a song called “Fade With Our Voices” it is mostly about being Gods hands and feet in this world. Give it a listen.

Do you have an “Angel” story to share?

~ by bearyweather on February 12, 2011.

9 Responses to “There Are Angels Among Us . . .”

  1. I believe in angels. I believe in invisible and visible angels. Sometimes my friends and family wear angel wings…other times Spirit brings its gifts through the invisible world. Lovely post, bearyweather! (I think bears can be angels, too…)

  2. Yes, there are angels among us each and every day. This is a loving and heartlifting post. Happy Valentines Day to you!

  3. Hi Bearyweather, Yes, I certainly do believe that there are Angels sent from God to help us and protect us. Wonderfully inspirational post! Have a splendid and joy-filled Valentine’s Day. Glad I am reading your fine blog!

  4. I can’t say more to this than…beautiful. Just beautiful. :) I am breathless thinking of how blessed we all are from what most don’t see or acknowledge.

    • Breathless – what a great word for how it feels. I agree, it is hard to thoroughly express the joy and peace that you feel when the unseen helps you … when an Angel pops up in your life.
      Hope Angels have been helping you out …. and you are feeling much better.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

